Roasted vegetables and couscous

To celebrate my local Tesco finally stocking a gluten free range, I bought some of their Free From Maize Couscous to try out.

One of my favourite salads ever is Delia Smith’s roasted vegetable couscous salad with harissa style dressing so I decided to make a simplified version of it with ingredients I already had in the cupboard.

Ingredients:

For roasted vegetables

  • 1 courgette, sliced
  • a bunch of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • a splash of olive oil
  • cumin
  • harissa paste
  • chilli flakes
  • salt and pepper

 

For couscous

  • Tesco Free From Maize Couscous
  • Vegetable stock

 

 

 

 

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 200c. Put all the vegetables including garlic cloves (whole) in to a roasting tin and add the harissa paste, chilli flakes and cumin and olive oil. Mix around so the vegetables are covered. Quantities are up to you, I did a teaspoon of harissa, cumin and chilli because I like a little heat, then a poured olive oil over it so it was lightly covered in seasoning. Add salt and pepper to taste and put the vegetables in the oven to roast for 30 minutes.

To make the couscous, I followed the instructions on the packet but to add some extra flavour, used boiling vegetable stock instead of plain water. I initially used 150g of couscous with 150ml of stock (as per the instructions). However it was still a bit crunchy so I ended up having to add more and more stock to get it to the fluffy texture I was hoping for. I’d say overall, I added about 250ml of stock to the couscous to get it to a right consistency.

Once the vegetables are ready, mix them in with the couscous and serve. Simple and delicious!

2016-03-01 19.17.41 (2)
Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

