Beyond Bread

Since I was diagnosed with coeliac disease I can’t count how many hundreds of people have told me about Beyond Bread, and so when I found myself in Fitzrovia at lunchtime last week, I finally decided to try it out.

2016-08-17 13.05.36

I was so impressed with the sheer volume of beautiful cakes, pastries, sandwiches, toasties etc. in such a small bakery and all gluten free. It’s a coeliac’s dream!

cakessandwiches

I went for a ‘wild thing’ baguette (salami, spinach, mozzarella and artichokes) and a chocolate chip muffin for good measure.

The sandwich was delicious, the baguette itself was one of the best gluten free ones I’ve had, it was way more ‘normal’ than all the usual gluten free alternatives, and the fillings were clearly of a very high standard and yummy.

The muffin tasted just like a regular chocolate chip muffin, which is high praise indeed as gluten free muffins are usually the worst.

A word of warning though, Beyond Bread is very expensive, it was £4.75 for a half size baguette (£5.70 if you eat in). Throw in the £2 muffin and I managed to spend £6.75 on what ended up being a pretty small lunch, albeit a tasty one.

I’ll definitely be getting my lunch from Beyond Bread again but maybe just on pay day.

Beyond Bread have two locations in London, Charlotte Place and Upper Street.

One thought on “Beyond Bread

  1. I can’t even imagine how awesome this place would be for you! It’s even better than a kid in a candy store.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is WORK DAY EATING which includes any recipe or food experience suitable for the work day such as lunch, snacks or easy meals.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

