I Sea Pasta

Last week the lovely people at Seamore sent me some I Sea Pasta to try out. So this weekend, with no idea what to expect from pasta made out of seaweed, I rustled up a sauce from stuff I had in the fridge and tested it out.

2016-08-27 20.00.40 (1)

Just like regular pasta the seaweed comes dried, so to cook it you can either pop it in boiling water for 15 minutes, or soak it in hot water for about 20. I decided to boil it for ease.

I wasn’t sure about the quantities so I just cooked it all, hoping to save some leftover for lunch.

2016-08-27 20.23.25

At this point I was feeling a little sceptical about the whole thing as it didn’t exactly look appetising but I persevered and made up my sauce. Here’s my recipe, should you want to have a go yourself:

Protein Packed Pasta Sauce

  • Bunch of spring onions (sliced)
  • 1 clove of garlic (crushed)
  • 2 rashers of bacon (diced)
  • 1 can of tuna
  • handful of frozen peas
  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes
  • a couple of slices of mozzarella .

In a large pan, heat a dash of olive oil and sauté the bacon, onions and garlic until cooked. Stir in the tomatoes and tuna and leave to simmer for about 7 minutes (or for as long as it takes for the pasta to cook). Throw in the peas and continue to simmer for another 3 minutes. Season with pepper (I didn’t add salt because the tuna and bacon are naturally salty) and you’re ready to plate up. Once the pasta is done, drain it and top with the sauce. Sprinkle the mozzarella on top for a cheesy finish.

2016-08-27 20.42.25 (1)

My sauce aside, I LOVED sea pasta. It’s firm and tasty, such a pleasant surprise. A really great alternative to gluten free pasta and the endless volumes of rice us coeliacs have to endure. It keeps excellently too, I managed to get 2 days worth of lunch out of it and it was great cold.

You can buy it directly form the Seamore website or at Whole Foods (London), Planet Organic and The Grocery (Kingsland Road). So now I have an amazing excuse for a lunchtime trip to WholeFoods!

Leave a Reply

