The Camberwell Arms

The Camberwell Arms is one of my favourite pubs in London and just so happens to be very, very good at food. I hadn’t been back since I got diagnosed, until last Sunday to welcome my friend Matt to south east London.

The menu changes daily, so I had a quick look beforehand and there seemed to be a couple of options for me. When we arrived though, lots of the items had run out (top tip: get there before 2pm on a Sunday) so I asked our waiter if they had a gluten free menu. He took the menu and spoke to the chef, returning with a redacted version for me to order from. Great service!

We decided to have the Hereford sirloin, Bearnaise, roast potatoes and watercress for two and because we were sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen, we got to see the beast being flame grilled right in front of us. Amazing!

2016-09-04-15-17-15

The huge cut of beef was absolutely perfect – rare, juicy and beautifully seasoned. The roasties were a bit tough but we found dipping them in the meat juice softened them up a treat. The watercress salad was a lovely, fresh accompaniment.

I had meringue, peaches and cream (think Eton mess with peach) for dessert which was a great end to an amazing Sunday lunch. I cannot wait to go back again!

One thought on “The Camberwell Arms

Leave a Reply

